The idea is simple: when the site you’re working on has many authors and needs to undergo major maintenance or a migration, it can be tricky to inform all of the people involved in the site that it should not be edited for a set period of time. Unfortunately, if edits are made to a site during any kind of maintenance, there is a chance that work can be lost due to various reasons.
By installing and activating the Code Freeze plugin, you’re able to display a message on all admin pages that the site is currently undergoing a code freeze. The plugin disables adding, editing and deleting site content, media, themes, etc.
Users also cannot install, activate, deactivate, update or delete any plugins (save deactivating the Code Freeze plugin itself). New comments and trackbacks are disabled and upgrade messages for plugin and WordPress files are removed; lastly, the plugin gives users only ‘read only’ access to the WordPress dashboard.
At Stem we often build new websites in a development environment before migrating them to the client’s hosting environment before launch. During the last few weeks of work, it’s not unusual to have members of both the Stem and client teams making changes to content, images, template code and on-page optimization — plugins like Code Freeze can be handy because sometimes, all the email warnings in the world cannot guarantee changes won’t be lost.
What do you do to make sure changes aren’t lost and work doesn’t clash during website migrations and maintenance? Please share your tricks or tools in the comments!